The Materials Science and Engineering Research Center (CICIMA, Spanish acronym) is a multidisciplinary scientific and technological research unit, dedicated to the study of microscopic and nanoscopic systems to extract physical and chemistry information. CICIMA was created in 1990. The center belongs to the Research Vice Rector office of the University of Costa Rica.